on_l_top.gif (10335 bytes)

on_r_top.gif (10527 bytes)

Standard Theatre

Haworth's Life
Haworth's Times
Haworth's Versatility
Haworth's Press
Haworth's Writings
NY Engagements
His Brother William
The Haworth Tradition

Home Contact Site Map

Standard Theatre
(Broadway & 33rd St.)

Built Built in 1875, destroyed by fire in 1883, rebuilt in 1884
Location Broadway at 33rd St.
Developer/Manager Frank W. Sanger
1st Production  
Major Productions Operettas of Gilbert & Sullivan; Showcased Minnie Maddern Fiske
Joseph Haworth's Appearances Paul Kauvar - 1888
Demolished Razed in 1909
Interesting Facts It began as the Eagle Theatre in 1875, and was re-christened The Standard in 1878.  Under that name, it introduced New York audiences to the operettas of Gilbert and Sullivan as performed by the D’Oyly Carte Company.  Renamed the Manhattan in 1898, it was leased by Harrison Grey Fiske to showcase the great acting of his wife Minnie Maddern Fiske.  In 1907, it was one of the first legitimate theatres to be taken over by motion picture promoters.  It was razed in 1909 to make way for the construction of Gimbel Brothers department store.

In 1878 Joseph Haworth made his New York debut in Crown of Thorns with Anna Dickinson at the Eagle Theatre and experienced his first flop. Ten years later, it was particularly sweet for him to return as the star of Paul Kauvar, and to score one of the biggest hits of the season.

Top of page

right_cur.gif (3918 bytes)
on_l_bot.gif (3672 bytes)

Back Home Next

on_r_bot.gif (3629 bytes)